2018 Burnsco Whakatu Regatta – Write-Up

Sponsored by Burnsco, New Zealand King Salmon, Waimea Estates & North Sails

The 2018 Burnsco Whakatu Regatta was hosted by the Nelson Yacht Club over the weekend.  Around 50 sailors enjoyed challenging conditions on Saturday before Sunday turned on perfect sunny Nelson sailing conditions.
The event catered for a large range of abilities and many competitors in the optimist green fleet were racing for the first time. At the other end of the spectrum Dave and Susan Shaw were showing the form that has won them two national championships in the Tornado class. Dave placed 4th at this years A-class world championships – think America’s Cup catamaran for one – and his skills were tested on Saturday when the wind and waves became too much for some competitors who wisely stayed ashore. Those that braved the conditions were treated to some spectacular thrills and a few spills in large waves and winds of up to 30 knots.
Sunday dawned a new day and after one race in light winds the afternoon produced two brilliant races for all competitors in near perfect sailing conditions. Some fleets were won through dominant performances, notably Noah Malpot (Optimist) and Peter Gamble (Starling) many weren’t decided until the final race.  In the Laser class Mike Terry and Paul McNabb were never more than a few meters apart throughout the entire regatta with McNabb winning the final race and regatta on the final wave of the final run!

Optimist, 1st Noah Malpot, 2nd Ben Roff and 3rd Alex Bentley
Optimist Green, 1st Ruairidh Cliffin, 2nd Tahlya Berger, 3rd Morgan Barak
P-class, 1st Aylwen Berger, 2nd Rowan Berger, 3rd Eran Berger
Starling, 1st Peter Gamble, 2nd Georgia Schokking, 3rd Charlotte Faulkner
Flying Dutchman, 1st McKee and Hislop, 2nd Gibb and McBride, 3rd Lissant-Clayton and Schotens
Laser Radial, 1st Geoff Pitchaithly, 2nd Bertie Meffan, 3rd Alice Faulkner
Laser, 1st Paul McNabb, 2nd Mike Terry, 3rd Paul Hufflet

Image 1: Multiple National Champions Dave and Susan Shaw put on a master class in sailing at this year’s Burnsco Whakatu Regatta. Credit Deanna Douglas

Image 2: The Starling and P-class fleet start a race on Sunday. The Starling Class was won by Nelson’s Peter Gamble (1188) and P-class by Timaru’s Aylwen Berger (154). Credit Deanna Douglas

Image 3: Flying Dutchman heading downwind in Race 5 on Sunday. The regatta doubled as the South Island Champs for Flying Dutchman. The regatta was won by Andrew McKee and David Hislop from the North Island and Nelson’s Dave Gibb and Nick McBride were crowned South Island champions. Credit Deanna Douglas

Provisional Results: